FIFA have revealed the slot allocation for the next Women’s World Cup that will take place in France in 2019.

There will be 24 teams taking parts and the slot allocation is as follows:

  • AFC (Asia): 5 slots
  • CAF (Africa): 3 slots
  • CONCACAF (North, Central America and Caribbean): 3.5 slots
  • CONMEBOL (South America): 2.5 slots
  • OFC (Oceania): 1 slot
  • UEFA (Europe) : 8 slots

Hosts: France (UEFA)

If we compare this to the FIFA 2015 WWC, the slot allocation is exactly the same for the six confederations. The only difference is the host country being France, making it the ninth country for UEFA instead of Canada in 2015, which means it’s the 4.5th country for CONCACAF.

We should therefore expect a play-off between CONCACAF and CONMEBOL in late 2018, as we have seen prior to the 2015 World Cup, where CONCACAF’s fourth place team, Trinidad and Tobago, played off against CONMENBOL’s third placed team, Ecuador.

In the past, 16 teams participated in the 2011, 2007, 2003, 1999 editions, while 12 teams participated in 1995 and 1991.

The USA are holders after beating Japan by five goals to two in the final played at BC Place, Vancouver in front of 53,341 spectators.