Sokratis Papastathopoulos says he’s confused by the decision to rule out his goal against Crystal Palace, and he’s right to be.
Sokratis thought he’d scored the winner for Arsenal late on against Crystal Palace, firing home in the box for what would have been his second goal of the match. The goal was ruled out for a foul by Calum Chambers, but replays don’t make it clear why.
Sokratis was certainly none the wiser after watching the replays back.
“I think it was a goal,” Sokratis said. “I’ve just watched it again and Calum didn’t do anything. We’re just confused because I don’t think that they used VAR in the right way.
“Last week, it was a penalty on me and we didn’t use VAR. This week, we used it two or three times and again it is against us.
“Last week it was the same situation where it was a clear penalty (for a shirt pull at Sheffield United), but they didn’t use VAR. We lost the game and at least one point. This week we’ve lost at least two points.”
On the actual incident, Chambers had three players around him and tussled with them for the ball. Two of them looked to be fouling him, if anything, whilst he and Milivojevic were both entitled to go for the ball and tripped each other up in doing so.
That’s the key thing here: They tripped each other up. Chambers gets clear touches on the ball in both attempts at it with his left foot), so there’s no argument there, but in getting those touches their legs become tangled.
Quite how that represents a clear and obvious error to award the goal, I guess we’ll never know. The officials don’t have to explain the situation to us, we all just have to accept they’ve seen something that no one else has seen.
Goodness me, how have VAR disallowed that @Arsenal goal? That is not what it should be for. Ever.
— Gary Lineker 💙💛 (@GaryLineker) October 27, 2019