Chile have chosen Alexis Sanchez to play in this year’s Confederations Cup in Russia.

  • Winning countries from numerous tournaments across the globe set to travel to Russia
  • Confederation Cup seen as prelude to World Cup
  • Tournament takes place in June
  • Alexis has 108 caps for Chile and scored 37 goals

The Confederations Cup is seen as the prelude to the World Cup next year and sees countries from all over the world who have won major tournaments come together to battle it out.

This year, the teams taking part are hosts, Russia; Germany (2014 World Cup winners); Australia (2015 AFC Asian Cup winners); Chile (2015 Copa América winners); Mexico (2015 CONCACAF Cup winners); New Zealand (2016 OFC Nations Cup winners); Portugal (UEFA Euro 2016 winners); and Cameroon (2017 Africa Cup of Nations winners).

Chile have chosen more or less their first choice team, which includes Alexis Sanchez and Bayern Munich’s Arturo Vidal, which is in stark contrast to Germany, who have dropped the likes of Mesut Ozil and Thomas Muller in favour of bringing their younger, less experienced players.

Here’s Chile’s full squad:

  • Charles Aranguiz (Bayer Leverkusen)
  • Claudio Bravo (Manchester City)
  • Nicolas Castillo (Pumas UNAM)
  • Marcelo Diaz (Celta Vigo)
  • Paulo Diaz (San Lorenzo)
  • Felipe Gutierrez (Internacional)
  • Pedro Pablo Hernandez (Celta Vigo)
  • Mauricio Isla (Cagliari)
  • Gary Medel (Inter)
  • Eugenio Mena (Sport Recife)
  • Edson Punch (Necaxa)
  • Enzo Roco (Cruz Azul)
  • Martin Rodriguez (Cruz Azul)
  • Alexis Sanchez (Arsenal)
  • Francisco Silva (Cruz Azul)
  • Eduardo Vargas (Tigres UANL)
  • Arturo Vidal (Bayern Munich)