Mesut Ozil has been left out of Germany’s Confederation Cup squad.

  • Bayern Munich’s Thomas Muller also left out of Löw’s side
  • Winning countries from numerous tournaments set to travel to Russia
  • Confederation Cup seen as prelude to World Cup
  • Mustafi has been chosen

The 2017 FIFA Confederation Cup is being held in Russia as a prelude to the World Cup next year.

The countries taking part in the tournament are the hosts, Russia; Germany (2014 World Cup winners); Australia (2015 AFC Asian Cup winners); Chile (2015 Copa América winners); Mexico (2015 CONCACAF Cup winners); New Zealand (2016 OFC Nations Cup winners); Portugal (UEFA Euro 2016 winners); and Cameroon (2017 Africa Cup of Nations winners).

Despite having 84 caps for Germany, Ozil has been left out of Joachim Löw’s side set to travel to Russia in a month’s time.

Instead, Löw has opted to take a younger group of players it seems in order to give them some international experience.

Shkodran Mustafi, for example, has been chosen.

Here’s the complete list of Germany players who have been picked:

Bernd Leno (Leverkusen), Kevin Trapp (Paris Saint-Germain) and Marc-Andre Ter Stegen (Barcelona).

Niklas Sule (Hoffenheim), Antonio Rudiger (Roma), Matthias Ginter (Borussia Dortmund) and Shkodran Mustafi (Arsenal), Benjamin Henrichs (Leverkusen), Marvin Plattenhardt (Hertha Berlin) and Jonas Hector (Cologne).

Diego Demme (Leipzig), Emre Can (Liverpool), Leon Goretzka (Schalke 04), Sebastian Rudy (Hoffenheim), Lars Stindl (Monchengladbach), Julian Draxler (Paris Saint-Germain) and Kerem Demirbay, Joshua Kimmich (Bayern Munich).

Timo Werner (Leipzig), Leroy Sané (Manchester City), Sandro Wagner (Hoffenheim) Julian Brandt (Leverkusen) and Amin Younes (Ajax).