Arsenal drew 2-2 with Tottenham Hotspur on Saturday, in a disappointing result that didn’t reflect a positive performance overall.

Miguel Azeez (Photo via Instagram / MiguelAzeez)
Miguel Azeez (Photo via Instagram / MiguelAzeez)

Arsenal dominated the first hour of the match, taking 11 shots with three on target to Spurs’ two with neither on target.

Though the away side saw a lot of the ball, all the chances fell to the Gunners, and they took advantage with a fantastic finish from Nathan Butler-Oyedeji, assisted by Miguel Azeez in the 42nd minute.

Marcelo Flores came on for Catalin Cirjan in the 57th minute, making his u18 PL debut.

The talented young winger made his first appearance for the u18s in the PL Cup recently, but after impressing with the u16s at the Istria Youth Cup this was his first u18 league appearance.

Marcelo Flores (Photo via Facebook / IstriaYouthCup)
Marcelo Flores (Photo via Facebook / IstriaYouthCup)

After the hour mark, the game started to come to life. There were three bookings and two goals in the next 10 minutes, with Butler-Oyedeji scoring again before J’Neil Bennett pulled one back.

Butler-Oyedeji’s goal was a header this time, assisted by an Azeez cross. He’s developing a habit for scoring against Spurs, after scoring a hat-trick against their u16 side last season. Both he and Azeez have been impressive in the early stages of the campaign.

Despite Arsenal’s domination of the chances up to that point, Spurs scoring from range with their first shot on target set up a nervy final 20 minutes.

Luke Plange came on in the 82nd minute for Ryan Alebiosu as Arsenal tried to see out the game, but unfortunately, there was late drama of the wrong kind. Kion Etete scored in the 94th minute to make it 2-2.

Given Spurs only had four shots in the entire match, and their only two on net went in, it’s hard not to feel sorry for the young Gunners. There were positives on an individual level though, so they’ll just have to carry those into the next game and go again.

Lineup: Graczyk, Ogungbo (c), Dennis, Lopez, Oyegoke, Matthews, Azeez, Alebiosu, Patino, Butler-Oyedeji, Cirjan.

Subs: Mitchell, Kirk, Flores (for Cirjan), Monlouis, Plange (for Alebiosu).