League leaders Manchester City would’ve already won the 2017 league if it was played in calendar format, owever, Arsenal would have two titles in the last five years.

The Daily Mail pulled together the statistics to see which teams would be calendar year champions since the Premier League’s inception.

There were a few surprising entries on the list, for example Norwich City (1992) and Leeds United (2001).

However, the winner in 2017 was Manchester City, unsurprisingly.

City have only dropped two points in the entire 17/18 season so far in.

Not only that, but they also managed an eight game unbeaten run at the end of 2016/17.

Guardiola’s side only lost two league games in the entire calendar year. They managed 94 points, the second best 38-game-year after Chelsea in 2005 (101 points).

Arsenal are way behind.

The Gunners only picked up 75 points in 2017, despite playing 40 games (with a 41st to come). That leaves the club fifth, although they could jump to fourth with a win over West Bromwich Albion on Sunday.

Assuming Manchester United don’t win against Southampton, that is.

However, Arsenal have had some better years recently.

In 2013 and 2015, the Gunners were the outstanding team, with 82 and 81 points respectively.

Unfortunately, Premier League titles aren’t given out for calendar year achievements.

In fact, it’s a stretch to even call it an achievement, it’s really just a statistic.

Nonetheless, I hope Wenger’s side have a better 2018 than 2017.