OTD Arsenal equal record with Wigan win

On 12 April 2014, Arsenal beat Wigan 4-2 on penalties in the FA Cup semi-final.

The Gunners had already beaten Spurs, Coventry City, Liverpool and Everton to get to Wembley but, once there, against Wigan, they weren’t too convincing.

A 63rd-minute penalty from Jordi Gomez put Arsenal on the back foot but it was Per Mertesacker who put them back on level terms.

After full-time and then extra time, it came down to penalties.

Wigan’s Gary Caldwell and Jack Collison both failed to score theirs while Mikel Arteta, Kim Kallstrom, Olivier Giroud and Santi Cazorla all netted theirs for Arsenal, putting the Gunners through to the final for the 18th time and equalling the all time record for cup semi success.

In the final, Arsenal won their first trophy since the FA Cup in 2005. Although they went 2-0 down against Hull early on, they came back to win 3-2 in extra time.

The following year, Arsenal beat their own record.

Previous articleKeown wrong to say Arsenal envy Tottenham
Next articleLiverpool want Oxlade-Chamberlain, Arsenal want £35m
A twenty-something writer living in North London. Likes caffeine, food that’s bad for her and Arsenal. Dislikes avocados, rudeness and Arsenal.