Petr Cech has been named Czech Player of the Year for the ninth time.

Picking up the award after he topped a poll of players, coaches, football federation officials, and, journalists, Cech posted on Twitter after the event:

The ceremony took place at Prague Castle where Cech apparently confirmed he would be out for ‘weeks’ with the calf problem that forced him off against West Brom at the weekend.

Hertha Berlin’s midfielder, Vladimir Darida came second. Third place went to Borek Bockal who recently moved to Henan Jianye in China from Sparta Prague.

Cech previously won the award in 2005 when he was with Chelsea, before winning again in 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2013, 2014, 2015.

Tomas Rosicky won the award three times – in 2001, 2002, and, 2006.

Footballer of the year:
1. Petr Čech (Arsenal), 2. Vladimír Darida (Hertha Berlin), 3. Bořek Dočkal (Sparta Praha)
Manager of the year:
1. Vítězslav Lavička (Czech Republic U21), 2. Jaroslav Šilhavý (Dukla Praha/Slavia Praha), 3. Bohumil Páník (Zlín)
Young talent:
1. Patrik Schick (Bohemians Praha 1905/Sampdoria), 2. Jakub Jankto (Ascoli/Udine), 3. Matěj Pulkrab (Slovan Liberec/Sparta Praha)
Female footballer of the year:
1. Lucie Voňková (USV Jena), 2. Kateřina Svitková (Slavia Praha), 3. Lucie Martínková (Sparta Praha).