Alex Iwobi has missed out on the Golden Boy award after it was given to Bayern Munich’s Renato Sanches.

In all honesty, there seemed little chance of Iwobi picking up the award. Making the breakthrough into the first team last season, he has been steady but has not been spectacular on a regular basis.

That being said, Sanches, who won the award based on his time at Benfica last season, scored two in 23 league games with one assist. Iwobi got two of both in an arguably tougher league.

They both scored six goals in all competitions (including youth), but Iwobi managed his total in over 1,000 minutes fewer than Sanches.

The Arsenal man also showed significantly more discipline, with Sanches picking up five yellows in Liga NOS, and one red. Iwobi was not carded in the Premier League last season at all.

This season, Iwobi has two league assists and one in the Champions League. Sanchez has no goals or assists across all competitions.

Just saying.

Marcus Rashford came second while third place was given to Kingsley Coman.

Previous winners

2003 – Rafael van der Vaart (Ajax)
2004 – Wayne Rooney (Manchester United)
2005 – Lionel Messi (Barcelona)
2006 – Cesc Fabregas (Arsenal)
2007 – Sergio Aguero (Atletico)
2008 – Anderson (Manchester United)
2000 – Alexandre Pato (AC Milan)
2010 – Mario Balotelli (Manchester City)
2011 – Mario Gotze (Dortmund)
2012 – Isco (Malaga)
2013 – Paul Pogba (Juventus)
2014 – Raheem Sterling (Liverpool)
2015 – Anthony Martial (Manchester United)
2016 – Renato Sanches (Bayern Munich)