Arsenal Ladies’ goalkeeper Emma Byrne has been named in Ireland’s 20 players squad for their Euro 2017 qualifier in Portugal.

The game will be played in Moreira de Conegos on the 27th of October at 3pm UK time. Ireland started their qualiying campaign with 2-0 home defeat to Finland and will need to  get the points on board in order to qualify for the final tournament in Netherlands.

The full Republic of Ireland Squad (v Portugal):

Goalkeepers: Emma Byrne (Arsenal), Grace Moloney (Reading), Niamh Reid Burke (Shelbourne).

Defenders: Megan Campbell (Florida State University); Meabh De Burca (Galway), Karen Duggan (UCD Waves), Niamh Fahey (Chelsea), Louise Quinn (Eskilstuna); Sophie Perry (Brighton & Hove Albion).

Midfielders: Diane Caldwell (Avaldsness), Ruesha Littlejohn (Celtic), Grace Murray (Newry City), Denise O’Sullivan (Glasgow City), Julie-Ann Russell (UCD Waves).

Forwards: Carol Breen (Wexford Youths), Katie McCabe (Shelbourne), Aine O’Gorman (UCD Waves), Claire O’Riordan (Wexford Youths), Stephanie Roche (Sunderland), Clare Shine (Glasgow City).

Sue Ronan has also selected three former Arsenal players alongside Emma Byrne in Niamh Fahey now at Chelsea, Ruesha Littlejohn who plays for the Celtic Ladies and Sophie Perry a former Arsenal Academy player who plays for Brighton and Hove Albion in the FA Women’s Premier League.

Previous articleRamsey amongst Arsenal’s iron men
Next articleLoan watch: Szczesny concedes four, Akpom scores (video)
Following the Arsenal Ladies since 2004/05. Arsenal LFC season ticket holder since they appeared in 2006/07. Likely to be found watching women's football every week-end all over England... and the world. I am also a silver member