by Sylvain Jamet

The FIFA WWC 2015 tournament is ending on Sunday the fifth of July and FIFA have just announced the shortlists for the main individual prizes for the tournament.

The player of the tournament i.e. golden ball, the goalkeeper of the tournament golden glove and youth player of the tournament award will all be contested.

Candidates for the Adidas Golden Ball at the FIFA Women’s World Cup Canada 2015(in alphabetical order):

  • Saori ARIYOSHI (JPN)
  • Lucy BRONZE (ENG)
  • Amandine HENRY (FRA)
  • Julie JOHNSTON (USA)
  • Carli LLOYD (USA)
  • Aya MIYAMA (JPN)
  • Megan RAPINOE (USA)
  • Celia SASIC (GER)

It is interesting to note that there are three defenders nominated: Ariyoshi, Bronze and Johnston. There is one defensive midfielder Henry, three attacking midfielders Lloyd MIyama and Rapinoe and only one centre forward – Sasic.

Obviously, the third place play-off final and the final will have a big impact the final result, so Ariyoshi, Bronze, Johnston, Lloyd, Miyama, Rapinoe and Sasic have another game to impress the voters.

The Adidas Golden Ball will be awarded to the best player of the FIFA Women’s World Cup Canada 2015. The Adidas Silver and Bronze Ball Awards will be presented to the second and third-best players.

Candidates for the Adidas Golden Glove at the FIFA Women’s World Cup Canada 2015 (in alphabetical order):

  • Nadine ANGERER (GER)
  • Ayumi KAIHORI (JPN)
  • Hope SOLO (USA)

Not a big surprise to see three of the top four teams represented in the Golden glove nominees. Again all three players have an extra game to showcase their talent and win the trophy.

Goalkeepeing has traditionally been one of the weakest point in women’s football, but things have started to improve recently with more specialised training and we have seen some quality saves in this World Cup.

The Adidas Golden Glove will be presented to the tournament’s best goalkeeper.

Candidates for the Hyundai Young Player Award at the FIFA Women’s World Cup Canada 2015(in alphabetical order):

  • Kadeisha BUCHANAN (CAN)
  • Jiali TANG (CHN)

The Hyundai Young Player Award will be presented to the best young footballer born on or after 1st July 1995.

Buchanan has been a rock at the centre of Canada’s defense throughout the tournament, while Hegerberg has been very efficient with three goals in the tournament in four games. Tang is a young Chinese midfielder who had competed in the u17 and u20 tournament in the past and played four games in the World Cup 2015.

All award winners will be decided by the FIFA Technical Study Group (TSG).

The winners, including the Adidas Golden, Silver and Bronze Boots for the tournament’s top scorers and the FIFA Fair Play Award, will be announced after the FIFA Women’s World Cup Canada 2015™ Final on 5th July.

England’s Lucy Bronze has had a fantastic tournament at right back. She has played all five England games, scored the match winner against Norway and the all important second goal in the 2-1 win against Canada. I think she has a chance for the Silver or Bronze ball as the golden ball is likely to be won by one of the world champions.