Arsenal beat Anderlecht in the final of the ABN AMRO Future Cup on Easter Monday.

Since the inaugural tournament in Amsterdam in 2010, Ajax have made every final and Anderlecht have won the competition three times but couldn’t beat a strong Arsenal team to the trophy this time around.

After three impressive group stage wins, including one against hosts and three-time winners Ajax, saw the Gunners comfortable go into the semi-finals.

Meeting Barcelona on Monday, Arsenal impressed but could only draw 0-0 before winning on penalties. The exact same result was enough to win the competition later the same day, when Arsenal were again the better side against Anderlecht and deserved winners on penalties.